Think Free As Cindy Aleo-Carreira noted on Profy.com, “ThinkFree is the latest entry in the online office suite arena. With a product suite that already includes Server, Portable, and Desktop versions of their software, it’s one of the first companies to embrace both the online and offline worlds of document sharing”.

She continues by saying that, “Their products are Microsoft Office compatible, and for those of us who aren’t running a Windows OS, the good news is that ThinkFree products run on Mac OS X (Tiger) and Linux as well as the standard Windows.”

Tris Hussey, of Blognation Canada had this to say about Thinkfree, “I’ve talked about ThinkFree before, and since then have been using it pretty much exclusively over MS Office. It rocks. It’s light, responsive, and really has only the things you need to get the job done”.

I have had an invite to ThinkFree, for sometime now and I must admit, I had been sitting on it. why, because I was convinced that there was not other office program like Bill Gates MS Office.

I have been an MS Office fan for the past 10 years and in that time period I only digressed once to try Corel’s Office Suite 12. That lasted all of a few hours. Just long enough to install it and look under the hood, so to speak and uninstall and archive the disk. Oh I did take it for a test drive and it, as I saw it, handled like a top heavy clunker driving cross ways to a 30 mph side wind.

As I continued to read Tris’s article my curiosity grew and then he hit me with the big guns, “I stood up before the audience and started presenting on the big screen. I showed the files I had up on the ThinkFree storage site, … it was to edit them online.” “And then I pulled the plug and disconnected my laptop from the network.” he continued”

Tris, like any good Rock Star, or in this case, Technology Evangelist had saved the best for last. “I just opened the synchronized copy of the presentation I had been working on, right there on my laptop, and continued presenting to the audience“, he stated. “You could feel everyone else gulping for air on my behalf, but I had my oxygen right there and I just kept on working.”

Lord have mercy”, I thought, “Tell me it isn’t so!“, I said, half aloud to myself. “I have got to Pimp my Work.”I continued, “and fast“.

Still a little woozy from the impact I slowly reached for my trusty mouse and began to follow the prompts on the invite Tris was kind enough to supply. He had all the bases covered.

Remember, I already had an invite to ThinkFree and had been fence sitting for some time, but this, this was the Thinkfree Premium.

Okay, yes, despite the fantastic sell job by both Cindy and Tris, I was a still a little leery. I mean my MS Office and I had a long-term relationship, almost like a finely tuned marriage. Sure we had our ups and downs and MS did have some rough edges and often was a little cranky, but it was nothing that could not be worked out, right?

Well they say that when a relationship gets stale a little spice may just be the answer to bring it back to life. Thinkfree was just, that little bit of spice, or so I thought, to renew my relationship with MS Office.

Ten minutes into the install and the usual look under the hood and, yes a quick test drive, I was in love all over again. Only this time it was with Thinkfree. I never knew what hit me.

Like MS Office, ThinkFree does include a word processor, spreadsheet program, and the equivalent to power point. The beauty is you can either work online or offline from your desktop as I did for this blog. There is also the option to sync your files at your leisure with ThinkFree’s server.

Did I mention that by having your files synced online that you can leave your computer at home and still access your files form another computer at your will, just as if you had never left.

Thinkfree has some really smooth lines, and the quick response to the various commands is astounding.

Unlike MS Office,. I found it to be very responsive, like a finely tined Ferrari as it breezed through the challenges I presented it. It was a good thing I couldn’t be arrested for speeding and I whizzed through the turns at breakneck speed..

Thinkfree has everything I use in both my word and excel programs with a few exceptions that I am hoping the guys and gals at ThinkFree would consider adding to complete the package.

When using excel, I always like to to have my cell selection to move to the right when I hit the enter key vs. moving downward. In word, one of the main tools I use besides spell check of course, is grammar check. Finally would be the ability to adjust the tool bars for less wasted working space. I calculate I could gain an extra 3/4 of an inch of working space, not to mention the over all layout would be more uniform.

Okay, so I am fussy, but I like it…

Over all it is going to be a long honeymoon, just ThinkFree and I.

ThinkFree was not kidding when they made the bold statement, “The best online office on the earth”

That being said, have you got your beta invite yet? Well what are you waiting for, don’t take our word for it, try it out for yourself, you won’t be sorry.


Digg!

Allan Herman, Creative Visual Marketing Services Incorporated (CVM Inc.)

