Portrait of Robert Boyle

Image via Wikipedia

 

Having not only a love for photography, but it also being my profession I felt I wanted to know more about it’s origins despite what I already knew. it is with that in mind that I felt I wanted share my findings with you, my readers.

* In the sixteen hundreds Robert Boyle, a founder of the Royal Society, had reported that silver chloride turned dark under exposure, but he appeared to believe that it was caused by exposure to the air, rather than to light.
* Angelo Sala, in the early seventeenth century, noticed that powdered nitrate of silver is blackened by the sun.
* In 1727 Johann Heinrich Schulze discovered that certain liquids change colour when exposed to light.
* At the beginning of the nineteenth century Thomas Wedgwood was conducting experiments; he had successfully captured images, but his silhouettes could not survive, as there was no known method of making the image permanent.

The first successful picture was produced in June/July 1827 by Niépce, using material that hardened on exposure to light. This picture required an exposure of eight hours.

Read more at: photohistory


Digg!

Allan Herman, Creative Visual Marketing Services Incorporated (CVM Inc.)

