ProcratinationProcrastination is a behaviour which is characterized by the deferment of actions or tasks to a later time. Psychologists often cite procrastination as a mechanism for coping with the anxiety associated with starting or completing any task or decision. The word itself comes from the Latin word procrastinatus: pro- (forward) and crastinus (of tomorrow).

Procrastination and I have become very close companions as of late, to close as I envision it. Just when I think, I am ready to tackle one of many overly delayed projects Procrastination promptly pulls up a chair, sits beside me, and within seconds, my mind is filled with reasons why I should put off what I should be doing now to seek and create new projects to add to the multitude I have already started.

Over the years, I have started to write a novel based on real life events, a group of short stories and a movie. Added to the mix are a series of articles based on both old and new technological ideas, many still in the beta stage, each sitting on the shelf gathering dust.
My, mind it seems, never truly rests as it continually searches for new ideas to explore in my never-ending quest for learning. Just when I think, I have a break through it pops up. Yes, good old Procrastination rears its ugly head, whispering sweet nothings in my ear and I like the proverbial push over I am, I give in and once again, nothing is ever completed.

Today is no better as I struggle with the warm sunshine and cool breeze coming in the patio door next to my desk. As I sit and write I am not alone. My nemesis and constant companion is at my side taunting me to put off writing and to take some photos of a bowl of fruit before it is completely devoured, and then there is the sunshine and the fact I am actually on holidays so why do anything, right?

While this article may or may not have any real meaning or interest to you the reader, it does have value by its creation and publication to me, the creator. It is my first step in the long road to recovery and eventually or should I say hopefully, taking back my life and actually starting and finishing a project or projects without any assistance from Procrastination or should I say interference from my own lack of confidence in my ability to finish something once started.

Following is a little piece I write so many years ago that still hold true that I feel not only compliments the latter but is a nice way to end my personal lament….

The Door

Oh that my mind may expand,
To have knowledge would be great!
It accosts me where e’re I turn;
My being strives to understand each and everything!
My soul cries out in anguish,
“Why and I here alone in this great pool of infinity?”
Why can’t I learn?

People rush, push and nudge,
To an endless turmoil of infinite nothingness they go,
Or so it seems!
I’ve found the key; won’t you show me the door?
Please help me find the way!

Those with the answers are like doors shut tight.
Oblivious to the fact that knowledge is to be shared!
Oh to grab them and say.
“Knowledge is for everyone, it’s our right!”

Where is the door?
Where does it lead?
Help me to understand so we in equality relate.
Share, care, life is short!
Confusion I have, knowledge I need.
Help me! Won’t you please?
-30-

Let the battle of my inner will begin…

