At about 5:45 on August 11, 2011 as I was walking around what is known as the P2 parking lot at Mount Seymour Provincial Park, in North Vancouver, BC,  I noticed a middle-aged couple with what I perceived to be an old grey coloured racing bike. The bike was gracefully leaning up against the bright red doors of a fire hut, which had tall grass-grown up around the base and sides. I at first assumed one of them had just taking a rest after riding up the significant steep and winding road and the other was admiring the bike when I noticed the woman who I was too later learn was the man in questions wife who was holding a light reflector while he was kneeling with a camera.

That aspect in itself is what truly intrigued me, as it was not a common sight (the use of the light reflector) and set them apart from the normal flock of site seeing photographers that frequent the mountain.

The photographer in me had to get closer and as photographers often do, I asked a few questions, and then we both began to chat. We talked about his use of the well-worn reflector, Sherman Hines and Freeman Patterson, the zone systems and cameras in general including how despite being continually bitten by flies and mosquitoes during the photographic process it was a small price to pay to get a truly great shot.  In this case, the racing bike against the fire hut doors and the tall grass.

We chatted for about 15 minutes, while he, never missing a beat continued to shoot and I continued to observe and make mental notes of his style. It during this observation process that I realized once again how true beauty is in the simplicity of the subject and not in having great quantities of fancy equipment and the best cameras money can buy. Although, he and I did both agreed sometimes it can help depending on your needs and what your shooting; a magazine shoot with models or just a great landscape you fell in love with at that present moment especially when it comes to the quality of the glass (lens).

For me while I talked about my desire to update my equipment to a Canon  EOS 5D Mark 2 and a Canon-EF-600mm-F4L-IS-II-USM if I could ever afford the 11,550.00 plus tax price tag although I would settle for a

Sigma  APO 150-500mm F/5-6.3 DG OS HSM at a much more affordable price. For him it was going digital in a Hasselblad if and when they ever decided to make a digital model.In the end we both smiled in total understanding of what each was saying having never exchanged names or other personal details other than that he lives in the area and comes to Mount Seymour often.  We bid each other a good day and a take care as we both continued on doing what we had come to do and in the process I came away having learned once again a lesson I all too often forget.  That lesson is to open my eyes and look at what I can do and not at what I wish, I could do photographically and now I begin a new my search for images to capture in my old/new-found outlook on life and nature combined. In addition, I was at that moment also grateful with what equipment I have as I concluded it was better than no camera at all.I am presently using a Canon RebelXti with the standard issue kit lens, which in essence does provide me with some good quality images.

-30-

